Sauerkraut Troubleshooting

Kimchi, pickles, sauerkraut, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Sauerkraut Troubleshooting

Postby vicxz on Thu Sep 08, 2022 8:23 pm

Hi all,

I have a question regarding Sauerkraut.
I am new to making it and so far have attempted about a dozen times over the last 2 years.

First attempts were using store-bought cabbages, then farmers' market cabbages then finally this year, my own home-grown cabbages.
I am using a pure salt, no additives in varying concentrations between 2-3% by weight. Distilled water. Fermentation length between 3-6 weeks at a controlled 19-20 degrees Celsius.

Except for my first attempt which failed horribly, all of my other batches have turned out exactly the same and I am here to ask the fermentation community at large a question:

What does sauerkraut taste like?

I don't know anyone who has made or tasted home-made sauerkraut - including myself before I made it.

Every batch I have made (using different cabbages, salt concentrations, methods, etc.) has turned out exactly the same - weirdly fruity, with an almost acetone-like grape-y scent and taste.

Since all my attempts have turned out the same am I somehow A) messing it up or B) this is how sauerkraut is supposed to taste and I just don't like it?

What does your sauerkraut smell/taste like?
vicxz

Re: Sauerkraut Troubleshooting

Postby Christopher Weeks on Sat Sep 10, 2022 5:28 am

Fruity, sour, musky, notes of acetone maybe, but not a strong sense of it.

I'd propose two courses of action:

1) Find some commercial live saurkraut and try that. They probably know what they're doing and have tight controls to produce a consistent product. See if you like that.

2) Make a batch where you taste a nibble of it every three days. Follow the flavor development as it progresses over, say, 12 weeks. See what you think about it over time.