sourdough interferring with beer?

Sourdough, porridges, pre-soaking, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

sourdough interferring with beer?

Postby Diana on Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:36 am

I have been reading on a beer brewers forum where I read pieces of guys forbidding their wives to make sourdough bread, coz it ruined their beer.
I have done both in the same kitchen, beer became beer, bread became bread, what is the deal there?
Diana, mom to 4 - Switzerland
Diana

Re: sourdough interferring with beer?

Postby svakanda on Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:35 am

beer snobs....:P

just kidding, sorta...my father is a brewer by trade. he is a little wary of non-controlled/lightly-controlled fermentation. partly I think because when you are making beer to sell, you want it always to be VERY close to the same as it was or you deter people....so they are much more PRECISE about their fermentation projects. I call him a beer geek. =)
svakanda

Postby Tim Hall on Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:58 pm

According to many beer brewers LAB infections (they refer to them as infections) are difficult to eliminate from equipment and utensils. LAB grows pretty quickly (as does just about everything) in malt medium, and unless you're aiming for something like Berliner Weiss or Lambic, it's generally considered a serious fault.
Tim Hall
Long-Lost Keeper of the Keys

Postby Diana on Sat Jan 10, 2009 7:43 am

Thanks for the replies. I can see the point a bit yeah.
Good thing is that we love the slightly sour weissbier here very much.
Other than that I can always do the beer (non sour) in the basement and the bread in the kitchen.

What other stuff can interfere with each other?
Diana, mom to 4 - Switzerland
Diana

Postby Tim Hall on Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:52 pm