Ginger Bug Question

Kombucha, sodas, water kefir, rejuvelac, kvass, and more...

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Ginger Bug Question

Postby GingerBugger on Thu Apr 02, 2015 1:35 pm

My ginger bug was successful and I used it to make some pretty awesome gingerale! It's now been resting in the fridge for a week and has formed a solid, white ring around the bottom of the jar. My instinct is that it's just some extra sugar that formed a crust, but could this be mold? Or does mold only form on top? I tried stirring it up but it's stuck and not part of the natural sediment. I should mention I'm a total newbie. Thanks in advance for your insight!!
GingerBugger

Re: Ginger Bug Question

Postby Christopher Weeks on Fri Apr 03, 2015 7:14 am

Describe what you've got and what you've done a little better.

Did you grow a ginger bug, use some (but not all) of it to ferment your soda? If so, what did you do with the remaining bug? What all have you been adding to the bug? And just to be sure, the white ring is inside the jar, right?

I doubt very much that it's mold. But when you write that it's "stuck" I assume you mean hard and stationary, for which my experiences do not prepare me -- it's kind of confusing.
Christopher Weeks
Nuka Ninja

Postby GingerBugger on Tue Apr 07, 2015 3:44 pm