Apple Cider and Kombucha

Kombucha, sodas, water kefir, rejuvelac, kvass, and more...

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Apple Cider and Kombucha

Postby Nerium on Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:11 pm

I just picked up a 4L jug of freshly pressed apple cider from the farmer's market and I'm itching to ferment it, but not sure how. I have been brewing kombucha for a few months, so I'm wondering if I could do something using a kombucha scoby, or doing a second fermentation and filling bottles with half cider, half brewed kombucha. I'm also tempted to try just fermenting it on it's own, maybe with some champagne yeast to make a hard cider. Thoughts anyone?
Nerium

Re: Apple Cider and Kombucha

Postby infinity_farmer on Sun Sep 25, 2011 9:20 pm

Hello! I've wondered the same thing myself. I'm currently brewing with half black and red tea and half apple cider from my farmers market. The cider is pasteurized, unfortunately. However, it has been brewing for less than 36 hours and it is already very frothy and has that kombucha "zip" to it. I reckon if I let it sit for a few weeks it will become alcoholic. Hopefully not vinegared. I will post the results :)
infinity_farmer

Postby JaneMS on Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:55 pm

I don't know about apple cider, yesterday I had kombucha i with grape juice and it was fabulous. So when I get a mother I'm going to put her in the grape and do it that way.

It would be interesting to see if it would work.
JaneMS

Postby infinity_farmer on Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:34 pm

My cider and kombucha scoby has been fermenting for maybe two months now. It has turned vinegared. It was too strong to palate, unfortunately.
infinity_farmer

Postby ciderguy on Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:59 am