Slimy Sour Beets

Kimchi, pickles, sauerkraut, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Slimy Sour Beets

Postby Martyne on Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:33 pm

Hi,

I'm totally new to fermentation. I first made a small batch of plain sauerkraut which turned out o.k. Then I decided to make sour beets following Sandor's recipe. When I checked it today after a week, the brine was very thick, ligthy bubbly and slimy. It smells fine and doesn't taste sour at all. Since the brine was low, I added more brine to it and will let it go for another week.

Since I never had sour beets before, I'm not sure what they are supposed to taste, sour? Was is the slime about? I'm a little put off by the viscous texture

Thanks for any tips,

Martyne
Martyne

Re: Slimy Sour Beets

Postby maxairborne on Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:42 pm

Hi Martyne,

I just had a similar experience making beets using the recipe from "Nourishing Traditions" by Sally Fallon. In her recipe, you roast the beets first. She also uses whey as a starter, but gives instructions to add extra salt if you don't have whey. I didn't have whey, so used a pretty typical medium strength brine solution as I would for sauerkraut. After 2 days, the brine was really viscous. My beets (the yellow kind) looked like banana slugs. Not something any of the beet-lovers in our household were even willing to try! So, I rinsed the slimy stuff off and now I just have salty beets, which aren't sour at all.

In the past I've had great success making a mixed vegetable pickle that included raw beets, The raw beets take longer to change texture than the other vegetables (cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, turnips), but they are nonetheless delicious -- I slice them thin on the mandoline.

I, too, would like to know how to have success fermenting just beets without getting the slimy stuff. I wonder if it's related to brine strength, and the lactobacillus not having the right environment. Or perhaps it's to do with the starchiness of the beets.